chicken stir-fry and candied walnuts


I have done absolutely nothing (productive) today. In fact, I am still in my pjs!
Mom asked me to candy some walnuts to keep aside for salads. My first experience with candying anything, was when I candied pecans for my pecan pie on Christmas. I accidentally left the pecans in the oven for too long and it was a disaster! Smoke started coming out of the stove top and I burned my entire batch. A few weren’t (too) burned, so I used those for the top of my pie.
So, today I decided to be extra careful and only keep them on broil for 2 minutes (nothing more). Poifect!

Lunch was simple because I was lazy. I had Crab Chowder Soup with a half a slice of Savary Island Multigrain Bread. Best bread IN THE WORLD. Its so dense, thick and hearty. They also make the best Chicken Basil sandwich in the WORLD!

For dinner, I made myself and the fam Chicken Stir-fry. Super simple. You can use any veggies and any amount your little heart desires. I used:

Zucchini
Bell Peppers
Baby Carrots
Celery
Green Onions
Bok-Choy
Minced Garlic
Tiny bit Ginger Paste
Salt
Pepper
Sesame Oil
Sesame Seeds
Tiny bit of Soy Sauce (for saltiness)
Stir-Fry Sauce
3 oz Cooked Chicken

so colorful!

I am usually extremely impatient with my stir-frys, and throw all the veggies in at once, causing the stir-fry to be soft and watery. This time I put the hardest veggies first and then the softer ones; and I did not let them sit on high for too long (usually let the veg sit on the hot stove for way too long because I am still busy chopping the rest of them up).

And for dessert I ate the Candied Walnuts. I can’t tell you how many I ate because I haven’t been able to stop picking at them. I also scrapped the tin foil for all the hardened sugar! YuM!

I candied these walnuts with brown sugar and agave. Super simple:

Stir Brown Sugar & Agave in a saucepan on high (as much you think will cover all the walnuts).
Toss in the walnuts and stir them till they’re all covered.
Spray an oven tray with PAM Olive Oil spray.
Lay the walnuts out so they aren’t touching each other (or else they’ll all get stuck to each other).
Broil them in the oven at 375 degrees for 2-3 minutes (keep an eye on them).

Dessert šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

