go to barres not bars


Today was a strange day. I could hardly open my eyes this morning and I definitely woke up on the wrong side of the bed. I was grumpy and tired all day. And to top it off it was POURING RAIN today. I mean, yah I know, I live in Vancouver and it rains all the time here, but this was another level of rain – I did not like it. Not one bit!

I tried to go for a workout but couldn’t muster up enough energy, so, for the first time in my life, I actually listened to my body, and skipped the workout.
After class, I realized I needed a pick me up, so guess where I went? MENCHIES! I figured some fro yo was BOUND to cheer me up. This time I skipped out on the chocolate (okaaaay I still got a little bit) and got lots of fruit instead. After gobbling down the fro yo I headed back to school. My eyes were so heavy on the drive back; I was afraid I might fall asleep so I kept pinching myself and making loud yelling noises to stay awake. I am sure if anyone saw or heard me, they would have thought I was insane.
I keep a pillow in my car for days like these. I took an hour power nap in my car before my second class, and wow! did it help! I guess I was just sleep deprived. I don’t even know what time I slept last night, but I didn’t think it was late. I am pretty sure I got a good 7 hours in. Maybe overstraining syndrome???? :S I hope not!

So I know I said I skipped out on the workout, but technically, I still managed to get a “workout” in. See, I don’t consider it a “workout” unless I have broken a sweat. Today I tried THE DAILEY METHOD.

A family friend, Farhana Aunty, has been raving about this barre exercise she recently discovered, and urged me to try it out. She actually practices “The Bar Method” which is similar to “The Dailey Method,” but really only differs in founder. I haven’t tried The Bar Method, but from what I have read it is more ballet based, while The Dailey Method is more modern dance based. Also, The Dailey Method is founded by Jill Dailey McIntosh, who, interestingly enough, studied Kinesiology, so a lot of her postures and exercises are based on her knowledge. They both opened in San Francisco in 2000 and they both are inspired by the famous dancer Lotte Berk. Lotte Berthe was actually the one who created this exercise concept by using ballet barres and ballet inspired movements. I believe she started this exercise as rehabilitation for injured ballerinas. Don’t quote me on that though.

Lotte Berk

Anyway, I was intrigued by Farhana Aunty’s description of the exercise. She described it as tiny movements while holding postures isometrically – and that’s exactly what it was!
It is a unique blend of Pilates and various bodyweight exercises, and it can actually be quite difficult. Isometrically contracting muscles while holding them out in thin air and just slightly pumping them is by no means easy. The smaller the movement the more difficult it is because when you make larger movements you are using momentum…this way you have tokeep your movements controlled. Oh and you have to wear these special grip socks so you don’t slip on the carpeting in the studio. That was kind of interesting to me; especially how the hour was spent in a carpeted studio.

English: Classic ballet-dancer Español: Bailar...

Apparently, this method does wonders for posture and toning muscles. I can definitely see how this type of exercise can be beneficial to shaping your physique and improving your posture. The lady at The Dailey Method guaranteed results if I practice 3 days a week for 3 weeks.

If you practice or have practiced Barre inspired exercises, I would love to hear your reviews 🙂

Leave a Reply

