becoming a yoga asana(er)


When I checked the weather network last night, it said today would be blue skies and sunshine; however, I woke up to clouds, stepped into a building for 2 hours, came out, and there was snow on the ground.
Freak weather I tell yah!

And obviously, me being the brilliant person I am, I decided to go to the yoga studio which is a 20 minute walk from my grandparents apartment downtown (I park there because I can and it’s free), and I decided to wear the thinnest jacket on the planet. I froze. It was not enjoyable.

I wanted to go to the studio which was a walk away, because walking downtown amongst so many people and listening to my iPod is one of my little pleasures in life. I thought it would be a fun, relaxing experience. No. It turned out to be a not-so-great experience; I couldn’t feel my fingers, and my face/hair were soaking wet from the rain.

Anyway, I shouldn’t complain considering I got an awesome 90 minute Power Yoga session in.
I went there with the intention of NOT breaking a sweat.
I didn’t think a little yoga would get me sweaty. Little did I know that Power at YYoga means you practice in a warm-hot room, so I was SOAKED 15 minutes through the class. I didn’t bring a towel, so I had to bare the sweat beads dripping off my body….patience is required for that.

This picture will be me soon…haha jk…it’s not what I am going for.
I don’t practice yoga for the poses, I practice for the neurological…psychological…whatever-you-want-to-call-it after effect.
If you practice yoga, you know what I am talking about.
And if you haven’t practiced before, I totally encourage challenge you to do it 5-7 times a week for JUST one month, and if you honestly do not feel like it changed something in the way you live your life, then your wish is my command.

Anyway, so, I actually intended to go for an Anusara Inspired class, which I have never tried, but due to traffic, I missed the class.
Bummer! Maybe tomorrow!

I am intrigued as to what this style of practice is.
Apparently they chant at the beginning of class.
And apparently, John Friend, the man who created this style is a sex-addicted-drug-selling phoney. Maybe you remember the big Anusara yoga scandal a few years back.
If you know anything about this particular style (not the scandal), please let me know what your experience was like!
I am trying to avoid the negative media predisposing me to a tainted outlook on the style. I am going in with an open mind. Gosh, I am starting to sound like a yogi…..

Okay, lets back up a bit. Before yoga, I hit the gym and trained my back!
Felt good to step foot in the weight room after four days!

High Pull Machine 10 reps @ 90 lbs
                                       10 reps @ 110 lbs
                                         9 reps @ 110 lbs 
Bicycle Sit Ups 20 per side X 3 

Cable Row with Rope Handle 9 X 2 @ 50 lbs
                                                             10 X 1 @ 40 lbs
One Arm Row with One Leg Striaght 10/12/12 @ 20 lbs

Cable Row with V Bar Handle 10/12/12 @ 60 lbs
V Position on Bench with Bicep Curls 12 X 3 @ 12 lbs

Followed by HIIT on the treadmill for 28 minutes: 30 second sprints (7.8 mph-8.8 mph) and 30 second walks (4.0 mph) for a total of 3.9 K.

BOOM BABY! and tomorrow is LEGS! And more yoga I hope!

Apparently yoga is officially an Olympic Game.
I really do not know how I feel about that, but the only words that come to mind are W.T.F……..

Leave a Reply

